

Advisory Board Meeting

October 17, 2019 – 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM AG's New Conference Room, 17th Floor State Capitol

Call to Order

Lonnie Grabowska called to order the North Dakota Criminal Justice Information Sharing (ND CJIS) Advisory Board Meeting at 1:31 p.m. on October 17, 2019 at the Office of Attorney General 17th floor conference room in the Capitol building.

Attendance

- ND CJIS Advisory Board Members present: Lonnie Grabowska, Amy Vorachek (phone), Russ Buchholz, Sally Holewa, Frank Senn (phone), Kara Schmitz-Olson (phone), James Remer (phone) and Dan Donlin
- o ND CJIS Advisory Board Members absent: Eric Pederson and Shawn Riley
- <u>Visitors present</u>: Christopher Bailey, Nathan Gustafson (Rolette County Sheriff) and Lyle Ripplinger (ITD)
- o Staff present: Heidi Smith and Misty Curn

Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Motion to Approve: Sally Holewa Second: Russ Buchholz

Abstains:

Motion carried unanimously.

User Access Updates

o Appeal:

 Christopher Bailey appealed the denial of his ND CJIS Portal access. The Board unanimously recommended granting the appeal and approving Christopher Bailey's ND CJIS Portal access.

Motion to Approve: Russ Buchholz Second: Dan Donlin

Abstains: Frank Senn

Motion carried unanimously.

o Portal Records Access for Non-Us Citizen

The Board discussed applicants who apply and involved in an administrative process for "Alien Removal under section 212 and 237" with Custom's and Border Patrol. The administrative process is not a criminal process. The Board agreed to move applicants who are currently moving through this type of administrative process into a holding status. The applications will not be approved or denied until the administrative process has been finalized and a



Advisory Board Meeting

October 17, 2019 – 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM AG's New Conference Room, 17th Floor State Capitol

decision on US citizenship has been made. At that point, the application will be processed through the normal application workflow.

NARIP Update

Heidi Smith provided an update on NARIP projects for Fiscal Years 2014, 2015, 2017, and 2018.

CJIS Brief Status

- o <u>Budget</u>: Heidi Smith provided an update on the ND CJIS budget.
- <u>Projects</u>: Heidi Smith provided updates on ND CJIS projects and the North Dakota Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification Program (ND SAVIN) Marsy's Law implementation projects.
- Outreach: Heidi Smith reported there continues to be significant contact with ND CJIS stakeholders.
- Operations: Heidi Smith reported that overall the operations of each program are running smoothly. Heidi provided an update regarding the CST and what how CJIS is working to find a solution regarding the L CST codes. The board would like to add a discussion regarding the Administrative Code to the agenda for the next meeting. They requested a legal representative be present to assist in the conversation.

Roundtable Discussion of Current Agency Projects

- o <u>Sally Holewa (Courts)</u>: The Courts continue to work with ND CJIS on e-charging and the interface from Odyssey to CWIS to push warrant data into the system.
- o Russ Buchholz (DOT): DOT is reporting that 15% of licensed drivers have received their Real ID's. Bill Panos is the new DOT Director.
- <u>Dan Donlin (State Radio)</u>: State Radio is short staffed and they have been conducting interviews.
- Lonnie Grabowska (BCI): Nothing to add to Heidi's report.
- Frank Senn (Chiefs of Police Assoc.): Nothing to report.
- Amy Vorachek (DOCR): Nothing reported.
- o Jim Remer: Nothing reported.
- o Kara Schmitz-Olson Nothing reported.

Next CJIS Board Meeting

The ND CJIS Advisory Board's next meeting will be held on <u>January 16</u>, <u>2020 at 1:30 pm</u>.

The 2020 ND CJIS Board Meeting's Calendar will be:

Dates:



Advisory Board Meeting

October 17, 2019 – 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM AG's New Conference Room, 17th Floor State Capitol

January 16, 2020 April 16, 2020 July 16, 2020 October 8, 2020

Meeting time:

1:30pm

Meeting Location:

North Dakota State Capitol, 17th Floor Conference Room

Adjournment

Lonnie Grabowska adjourned the meeting at 3:21 p.m.

Motion to Adjourn: Frank Senn Second: Russ Buchholz

Motion carried unanimously.