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RESIDENCE
RE: Poor Relief - Qualifications

This is in reply to your letter of April 17, 1958, in regard to
residence for poor relief purposes. You state the pertinent facts as
follows:

(1) Family X" resided in Walsh County and received welfare
assistance on March 1, 1956. They received no assistance from
Walsh County after that date. (2) On April 1, 1957, the
husband and head of household moved to Drayton, Pembina County,
and commenced working there. The wife and children followed
him to Drayton a few days after he went to work. (3) The
family resided in Pembina County until November 23, 1957, when
they moved to East Grand Forks, Minnesota. They resided in
East Grand Forks, Minnesota, until April 11, 1958, when their
house burned. (4) On April 16, 1958, they went to Grand
Forks, in Grand Forks County, and applied for welfare
assistance. Since the family just came to Grand Forks, they
were reluctant to grant assistance without guarantee from the
County of Residence.™

You request our opinion of the responsibility of Walsh County and
also our opinion of the responsibility of other places concerned.

The instant situation would appear In many respects quite similar to
that considered in In Re Boise, 73 N.D. 16. In that case the
unmarried mother of the child concerned, originally a resident of
Richland County, spent approximately 20 months in Burleigh County,
then 6 months In the State of Michigan, then 4 months in Cass County
and then 7 months in Richland County immediately prior to the
proceedings there concerned. In that case the court computing from
the date of commencement of proceedings found that from a year prior
to that date she had spent 1 month in Michigan, 4 months in Cass
County, and 7 months in Richland County; that therefore she had a
settlement in the county in which she had the longest resided within
such year which, of course, was Richland County.

In the instant case, looking to the year immediately preceding the
application for poor relief the head of the family concerned spent
approximately 4 months and 23 days in the State of Minnesota and the
remainder of the year in the County of Pembina. It is, we believe,
obvious that he did not lost North Dakota residence by the time spent
in the State of Minnesota. See: Section 50-0207 of the North Dakota
Revised Code of 1943 and Section 261.07 Minnesota Statutes Annotated
as amended to date. At the time of making application, however, he
had been absent from Walsh County for 12 months and 16 days. Thus
under section 50-0206 of the North Dakota Revised Code of 1943 he
had lost his Walsh County residence. While it is, of course,
arguable that section 50-0204 does not apply due to the absence from



the state, it is our opinion that under the principles set forth in
the In Re Boise decision he must be considered a resident of Pembina
County for poor relief purposes.
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